What are the disadvantages of traveling alone?

The reason why I created this blog is to inspire my readers to travel alone and explore the world. Before I started booking my first solo international flight, I researched the good and the bad side of going solo. My previous post talked about the advantages and positive things of traveling alone such as having the ability to go where you want, and when you want. That is why I highly recommend everyone to try it but my readers should also be familiar with the bad side and the disadvantages of traveling alone.

Below I have a list of my top two reasons of my disadvantages of traveling alone. I hope it will not scare anyone because as I mentioned earlier there are more advantages than disadvantages of traveling alone.

Feeling completely lonely
Traveling solo does not completely mean that you are going to be alone for the rest of your travel. As a matter of fact, feel free to talk to anyone whether it be your fellow travelers or the locals. Although you have the right to talk to anyone, you cannot avoid sometimes to be alone. For instance, taking a public bus to a place that I’m not familiar with. The most recent incident was when a local guy at Caye Caulker highly recommended me to go to Placencia, Belize. Since the place was recommended by a local guy, I decided to check it out.  I packed my bags and left the island. I was on the bus for 5 hours going to a province down in the south of Belize. The rest of the Belizeans got off so that makes me the only passenger on the bus. Take note, it was getting a little dark and at that moment, I felt completely alone. I suddenly felt lonely to a point of wishing that I was with someone I know. I literally didn’t know where I was going or where I was staying. All I know was that I needed to get off at the last bus stop but didn’t know where to stay. It was such a weird feeling that all of a sudden I got the feeling of loneliness, maybe because I’ve been traveling for three weeks and somehow I felt homesick? Consequently, most solo travelers at some point will feel lonely and would wished that they are traveling with their family or friends.

ImageSafety issues
If you are walking down a street alone you are far more likely to be a target of muggers or pick pocketing. For women walking down a street alone, local men can be really forward and at times aggressive with comments with their appearances. Believe me, local men can be ridiculously rude but what women can do is just ignore their comments and walk away. In addition, make sure you take taxis that are properly identified or real taxi driver. There has been incidents where taxi drivers would kidnapped and raped their passengers. I must admit, I have had my paranoia incident when I was taking a taxi at night in Costa Rica. Since I did not want to walk alone at night, I had no choice but to take the taxi. Luckily, some locals helped me identify legit taxi cab driver that it somehow lessened my paranoia.

Image
Despite of the disadvantages of traveling alone, I must say that these are not that bad and are somewhat doable. I myself had to deal with the bad side of traveling alone but that does not stop me from doing it again.

Happy travels,

Jennifer

2 thoughts on “What are the disadvantages of traveling alone?

  1. First of all I just wanted to say that I really like the general subject of your blog and have found each post to be very insightful to anyone who has or wants to travel alone. Like you’ve pointed out, traveling by yourself does have its’ downsides but the fact that the positives outweigh the negatives makes it all worth trying at least once in a lifetime. I have done a lot of traveling but it has always been with friends or family and I’ve just been dying for the opportunity to go someplace on my own. From your last post, the most appealing part of it all is just the spontaneity of being able to create your own itinerary the way you please. From my previous trips I feel like the worst part was always having to compromise with a large group of people and not ending up doing what you were hoping to do. I like to think that I’m adventurous or brave at times but if I do take a trip alone I need to be realistic in knowing that I’m a young female, and unfortunately young females can be easily taken advantage of. I like how you used personal examples for both disadvantages because it shows the reader that you’re talking from personal experience and helps them recreate scenarios in their mind so they can be prepared for anything that comes their way. Finding a “real taxi” was also a great example to use because it may seem like an insignificant thing to do at the time but could end up saving your life in the long run. I’m definitely keeping note of all the tips you have and will have them in mind if I ever get the chance to travel solo!

  2. I’ve actually done a lot of solo traveling, so I think this post is really great for people who might be on the fence about taking a trip by themselves. I think it takes a certain type of person to be able to make their own fun, but more importantly, it takes a certain type of person to be able to shoulder the entire burden of responsibilities that go along with traveling. What you gain in flexibility and freedom, you lose in companionship and safety. That said, it totally depends on where you are going and what you plan on doing

    One of the best trips I’ve taken solo was last summer when I went to the Electric Daisy Carnival in Las Vegas solo. I met a TON of awesome people and came back with a lot of great friends and memories.

    By the same token, one of the WORST trips I’ve done solo was when I went to Miami for Spring Break back in 2009. I had my wallet stolen the last night I was there, which made it a nightmare getting back on a plane. Obviously, Miami is a lot farther from home than Vegas, and I’d never been there by myself. Definitely taught me a lot about what can go wrong when you’re alone…

Leave a Reply

