Isla Mujeres, Mexico

Alright alright, I’ve talked about many things about solo traveling from tips, recommendations, and safety. Now I’m finally going to talk about my solo travel experiences. I’m not only going to talk about location and what to do but also talk about how to travel on a budget! You can travel even if you don’t have a lot of money.

Destination: Isla Mujeres Island

ImageBudget: $30-$50 per day
Languages: Spanish and two dozen Maya languages
Money: US$1 = M$13 (Mexican pesos)
Area: The island is 8km long, 150m to 800m wide and 1kn off the coast.

Isla Mujeres which means the Island of Women got its name back as Spanish pirates had kept their lovers in safe seclusion here. Archeologists also believe that the island was a stopover for the Maya en route to worship their goddesses.

How to get there?
Isla Mujeres is located just eight miles across the Bahia de Mujeres from Cancun. If Cancun is too crowded for you and its not your thing, Isla Mujeres is probably and most likely the place for you.
Arriving from Cancun International Airport, take the ADO bus from the airport to downtown Cancun bus terminal. The cost is 40 pesos from the airport to downtown Cancun bus terminal. From the bus terminal, take a taxi going to Puerto Juarez ferry dock. Take note, the taxi cost 50 pesos. I did not know this beforehand and so the taxi driver told me its 80 pesos. Gave him 100 pesos and he replied to me that he did not have any change( take note this was in the evening) tired as hell so I did not feel like arguing so I told him to can keep the change! It happens a lot when your traveling, so be ready to get ripped off from taxi drivers.

Once you arrive Puerto Juarez ferry dock, you have to take a water taxi to Isla Mujeres. The cost is $15. USD per passenger so for round trip it is $30 USD.

Where to stay:
Poc-Na Hostel – one of the best backpacker’s place in Isla Mujeres. Poc-Na was actually the best party hostel I ever stayed at. I think maybe I was lucky enough to have an amazing roommates who I still talk to till now. I was supposed to stay here for 3 days but I ended up extending it for 5 days. They have awesome employees, cheap and good food, cheap alcohol, and off course they have the best beach parties! (take note, they have cool local bands playing in the evening!). Although the beds are not that comfortable and the restrooms needs a major makeover, the atmosphere definitely  makes up for it.
Price: $8dorm – $12private

Where to eat:
Mango Café-
Mango Café is located mid-island on the Caribbean road. Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Price range: $5- $15
The food and dirnks are outstanding! I loved their quesadillas and fish tacos! It was quite cool how I met the owner of Mango Café while drinking corona‘s at La Terreza bar with my roommates. I was telling him how delicious their foods were so the following day I came again and got a discount from the owner! Wohoo!

Restaurant Bar Velasquez-
My favorite seafood restaurant on the island located right on the beach. What I like about this restaurant is that it is family owned and has been open for over 30 years!
Price range: $10-$15
I love seafood from crab, lobsters, tilapia, barracuda, you name it! And Velasquez restaurant did not fail me at all. They make delicious garlic grilled fish to shrimp cocktails!

Amazing view from Velasquez

Things to do:
Isla Mujeres offers lots of water activities from kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving, sailing, fishing, or perhaps go swimming with Dolphins and Sharks!


Isla Mujeres is a safe beautiful island that is a perfect destination for solo travelers.

Happy Travels!


2 thoughts on “Isla Mujeres, Mexico

  1. Hello Jennifer,

    Because I wrote about travel and city guides in my blog this week, I had to comment on your informative, fun, travel experience to Isla Mujeres Island! I love to travel and it is so important to know what type of budget you have and how to be efficient with your money abroad. The images you have used are beautiful and the information you have provided is great. I lived in France and traveled a lot while I was there, and it is so important to research what hotel your staying and where you to go for food. If you do not do this, you may find yourself in some uncomfortable situations or with a bad tummy ache! If I was going on a trip to Isla Mujeres, I feel that your guide and explanation would be very helpful. I love that you included some history about the place and what the name means; it makes the trip more exciting and fun. You make the island seem like a perfect place for people to go because of how much fun you had, the affordable restaurants, and the cool people your still in contact with. Although I have never been to Mexico, I would enjoy going to this island over Cancun to get away from all the tourist and to see the local bands play live music. I thought your blog was simple, fun, and attractive. You provided great photos, a great layout, and useful information for all the travelers out there to see. I am looking forward to reading some of your other travel experiences!. :))))))


    Felicia Terwilliger

Leave a Reply

